You can demonstrate your support of historic preservation by participating in Historic Charlotte’s major annual advocacy and fundraising events.

Spring 2014 - Charlotte Neighborhoods Series

Historic Charlotte invites you to explore and discuss Charlotte's neighborhood histories. This series of free events will highlight the Brooklyn, Biddleville, Plaza Midwood and NoDa neighborhoods. Tom Hanchett, staff historian at Levine Museum of the New South, will give an opening lecture and then lead each walking tour. Please visit for information on where to meet. The event is sponsored by The Charlotte Museum of History and presented in partnership with the Levine Museum of the New South, Johnson C. Smith University and Historic Charlotte.

Walking Tour Schedule

April 4        Opening Lecture and Reception
April 12      Walking tour of Biddleville
April 25      Walking tour of Plaza Midwood
May 2        Walking tour of NoDa

Historic Home Tour

The Historic Home Tour is an opportunity to take a look inside some of the best preserved, restored, and rehabbed homes showcasing Charlotte’s array of classic residential architecture. The tour may focus on a building style like Craftsman bungalow or mid-century modern, or it may center on a history-steeped neighborhood. Last spring, Historic Charlotte enthusiasts enjoyed Mad About Modern, a tour of local homes presented to highlight the importance of preserving Charlotte’s mid-century modern architecture. These homes exemplify the movement that swept the U.S. and Europe when modern thinking revolutionized art, architecture, and technology. Mid-century modern homes were designed around the idea of functional beauty and feature sleek lines, open floor plans, natural materials and space-age styling.

Blast for the Past Supports Ongoing Work

This past October 17, Historic Charlotte celebrated its biggest event of the year at the 13th annual Blast for the Past Preservation Honors and Silent Auction at the Bechtler Museum of Modern Art.

Historic Charlotte’s staunchest supporters showed their preservation dedication by attending the benefit event. Live music, cocktails and hors d’oeuvres were plentiful as guests browsed and bid on an array of silent auction items ranging from sports event tickets to beach getaway weekends.

The year’s top innovative historic preservation projects in our community were honored.

Proceeds from Blast for the Past support ongoing preservation and education efforts by Historic Charlotte. Sincere thanks to all who participated.